Diabetes, Insulin Pump and Blood Glucose Monitior

Hey everyone!

So this beauty is my first post on here. So I thought for the first one I should probably explain what type 1 diabetes is and how I control my diabetes because it has changed slightly from when I was first diagnosed.

So type one diabetes the simple my way. Diabetes is a long term condition that maybe one day they will find a cure for and maybe one day they won’t. In short terms my pancreas has stopped producing insulin. Insulin is a hormone which is used to break down glucose so that cell around the body can access it for energy etc. So basically my body cannot break down sugar as there is no natural insulin in my body. There isn’t a reason for why my pancreas stopped working. So contrary to what some people may think; I have never been overweight or consumed to many sugar products etc.

So how do you control this? Well when I was first diagnosed I took four injections a day, and that is probably the most common way to control type 1 diabetes. However I am fortunate enough to be the owner of a lovely Insulin Pump (I have attached a photo below of my pump set and will later take a picture of what it looks like on)

Image

So how does my pump work? Well it supplies my body with a continuous amount of insulin like a pancreas would do however it is programmed to give certain amounts at certain times to keep my levels stables. Then if I am going to eat I work out the amount of carbs I am eating and take my blood sugar level and the pump calculates how much insulin I need to cover the food and keep my sugar stable.

Where do I insert it? The best way to understand how its connect to me is that its like a cannula when you go into hospital. Its a thin tubing which I like to say is catapulted into my skin (by the blue circlish thing in the picture) and then some of the tubing sit under my skin and the rest is attached to the machine who I have named bob. You change the set every three days so it isn’t there permanently and I try to move it around slightly when I change it.

I thought I would also post a picture of my lovely blood glucose machine so you can see what that is like as well!

Image

A blood glucose machine works in this way; you “prick” your finger to draw a drop of blood, which goes on a test strip, which goes in the machine, which in turn tell you your blood glucose. So a “normal” persons blood glucose is between 4 – 6. The range that I feel is normal for me is 4.5 – 8, however sometimes its not perfect sometimes its higher sometimes its lower. But that’s what I’d like it to always be.

So that’s the basic of my diabetes in my own little Meg way. And that is the end of my first post. A little boring I know but it had to be done folks. Hopefully my next post will be a bit more interesting and more about living with diabetes, than diabetes itself.

5 comments
  1. Tracy Brook said:

    Very Proud of you and am sure you will be a fab nurse with lots to offer. And am sure anyone with a ? will find you very useful, much love your mum x

    • Thank you mum 🙂 I couldn’t have done it without you though 🙂 Love you x

      • Tracy Brook said:

        I know !!! xxx

  2. becki said:

    top read meggymoo x

Leave a Reply

