Kinky Pump

I know I already did my Sunday post but I’m awake, tired of revising and can’t let myself sleep right now so thought I might as well explain why I’m not allowed to sleep. Contrary to what your mind may think I am not going to have any kinky sexual stuff in this post. Nope instead I’m going to talk about my one major problem with my pump; When the tube kinks. You see my pump is a machine, it tries its best to tell me about  my diabetes to the best of its abilities but can only go so far and the one thing it can’t do is tell me when the tube has kinked. Why is this a problem I hear you ask? Because it results in me getting no insulin = high blood sugars.

I’m writing this now at 02.01 (in the morning) wishing I could just curl up and sleep but because life is funny like this I can’t! My pump kinked…well actually after taking a proper look I found out that the set I currently had in was clogged with blood…nice I know. So this lead to me putting another one in right before bed, waiting 30 minutes realising my sugars hadn’t come down, taking it out and seeing it had kinked (picture below – it’s not the best picture but if you look you can see the tube is bent over = kinked tube). This meant putting another in, so now I’m sat trying to avoid falling asleep, listening to James breathing heavily in deep slumber and getting angrier by the minute.

Kinked

Don’t get me wrong I love my pump, its better than injections by miles. But still things like this grate on you a bit. Is sleep to much to ask for? My diabetes wakes me up during the night every now and then anyway what with low sugars or needing the toilet or jabbing myself with my pump in the night, the list goes on. To be honest I feel bad for James who’s going to wake up and have to deal with a sleep deprived grump of a person called Meg…who also has a diabetes appointment tomorrow where I will probably rant to them about kinking cannulas which equal high blood sugars, sleepy megs who can’t sleep and normally a moody bitchy meg as well.

So now I have to sit and wait for that baby of a high number to come down a little more before I can feel satisfied that my pump is in properly and I’m not going to end up in a coma. I suppose I could inform you all about the risks of high sugar levels whilst I’m on the subject cause I’m nice like that 😉

The main risk for me as a type one is Diabetic Ketoacidosis – this is a medical emergency which can lead to comas and death. It happens when there is a shortage of insulin so the body switches to burning fatty acids and producing acidic ketone bodies.

That is probably the main issue of having high blood sugar levels however it can also damage organs in the body and over long periods of time cause health problems such as kidney failure etc.

One of the main issues is that high blood sugar levels is uncomfortable and well as irritating and makes you hot, sweaty, thirsty, need to urinate more, irritable, angry and very sleepy.

So that my lovely readers is me having a early morning moan and giving a quick summary of the problems high sugars cause. This will probably not be the best post cause I’m tired so apologise for any mistakes but my sugars have now started to come down so I’m off for a loo break before finally snuggling up and enjoying the land of nod. Hope you are all enjoying your sleep 😉

Night x

Leave a Reply

