Time Flies By…When You’re A Type 1

Old friends on facebook today have been talking about the past; my school years which made me remember the day I was diagnosed. As I haven’t fully gone into the details I thought I would tell the tale. 

I can remember the day like it was yesterday but the finer details seemed to have been lost in the haze of high blood sugars, drinking tanks of water and spending my life in the toilet. However my diabetes symptoms really started with my eyes worsening. That went on for a couple of months but then the weekend before I got put into hospital was probably the most ill I have ever felt in my life. 

Unfortunately I had always been a bit of a hypochondriac and the day I felt my worse happened to be the day I have 3 hours of P.E and I had always tried to get out of that. On top of that my great grandma was ill and my mum was preoccupied with that. So after my torturous day of P.E in which I ended up walking the cross country course, it was my dad who picked up on how ill I was. Which is surprising because I’m sure if I came home with bright pink hair he wouldn’t notice hahaha!

As soon as mum got home we took a nice walk to the walk in centre (car had broken down). There they tested my blood sugar and it was unreadable so it was a stint in hospital for me. Soon I was sat having a cannula jabbed into my hand by a lovely doctor who refused to put the numbing cream on my hand as there was no time, whilst explaining that I was a diabetic and that my pancreas had stopped working. I didn’t understand it fully at that time, all I wanted to do was sleep and feel better. 

Then I was given a dose of Insulin and found myself snuggling up in a hospital bed and falling asleep. Although that didn’t last long as I woke up not feeling very well. I was hot, shaking and hungry. These happen to be the symptoms I get when I am having a hypoglycaemia attack. You see the nurses had given me the wrong type of insulin which led to me having my first hypo an experience which I wouldn’t wish on anyone. 

The next few days were spent giving myself injections and learning a bit about my diabetes…and then I was sent home as a type 1 diabetic, injections, insulin and blood glucose machine and other stuff all with me. I also slept like a baby the days following and had the biggest strop ever when I wasn’t allowed chips at 11pm one night. Its strange what things you remember about the past.

My first day back at school I remember as being a bit daunting as well. My friends made me a lovely card but I can remember feeling nervous about getting my injection out at the lunch table and testing my blood in lessons. Although I soon got the hang of it there were times people said things that made me want to cry and sometimes there still is times. But it get easier as time goes by and the little girl that got her diabetes at 13 now has six years worth of experience and a life time ahead to learn more.

And as much as I sometimes wish I wasn’t a diabetic and that it would go away, thinking on it with a clear head I couldn’t imagine not having it. Not waking up and testing my sugar level, not carb counting, not dealing with hypos and highs and everything diabetic. It’s part of me…sometimes it even controls my life (when I’m being nice to it and letting it win). It’s like a birth mark; something I will always have however it’s shaped me. Made me want to do things in life like become a diabetic nurse, prevented me from doing others like sky diving or taking drugs or doing stupid things that some people I know have! My diabetes to me is like having a partner; drives you mad sometimes but you couldn’t live without it…well not unless you want to…or they cheat on you or something horrible but at least I know my diabetes can’t do that hahaha! 

So here’s to a life of being a diabetic and all the highs and lows it will bring 😉 

 

 

4 comments
  1. Becki said:

    Such a scary time for you (and us) I cried all the way home from visiting you! X

    • It was wasn’t it! And awww Love you lots xxx

  2. Donna said:

    Love your blogs!! And love u I hope my daughter turns out just like you xxxx

    • Thanks Donna! Love you to! And I’m sure if she anything like you she will be amazing and to be honest she already is xxx

Leave a Reply

