Banting & Best, Flame of Hope and Diabetes UK

Sunday blog day today! So what’s been going on in my diabetic life this week then I hear you ask? Well read on and you’ll get to find out. 😉 

Two days ago; 11th January it was the 91st anniversary of when the first person was given an “insulin injection” at the age of 14. He lived for another 13 years and died at the age of 27.

After learning about this I did a little bit of digging into this history of diabetes and a man called Sir Frederick Banting which also lead me to  looking into a man called Charles Best. These are the two men who together after an idea from Banting created insulin.

So what did I find out? Until insulin was created the diagnosis of diabetes meant death. Doctors realised that sugar affected diabetics and put them on a strict diet – although this worked it was only a short time treatment and the combination of a lack of food and the diabetes meant an early death. 

If I had been alive in the 1920s and was diagnosed with diabetes before insulin was created and therefore put on the diet I would have ended up looking like the child in the picture below. 

Image

 

It is amazing to think how medicine has progressed and how I owe my life really, or well at least some of it, to the two men that together created insulin; Frederick Banting and Charles Best. So if you fancy a night-time read maybe look into the history of these two men. As I do not think I could do the history of them justice and also give you lovely readers something to do when you are feeling bored other than reading my blog. 

As I’ve already read about them I have now made it one of my goals to visit Canada and the “Hometown of Insulin”; London, Ontario, Canada. Here I will be able to visit the Banting House and the Flame of Hope. The Flame of Hope was lit on 7th July 1989 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother. It is to burn until the day a cure is made for type 1 diabetics. It also represents the creation of Insulin by Banting and the loss of those who death has been because of type 1 diabetes. 

Image

On another note I also this week decided that I would quite like to volunteer for Diabetes UK – an amazing charity which is a resource for diabetics, educates people and researches into everything diabetic including a cure. So I’m going to fill out the forms and fingers crossed in the future I could be representing Diabetes UK at events, even speaking maybe and generally using my diagnosis of diabetes in a positive way rather sitting and crying into a bowl of sugar – which I don’t do, icecream maybe but not sugar hahaha. 

Talking of Diabetes UK to any diabetics out there who don’t already have it then you need to download the app called D Tracker. It enables you to record your sugar levels, bolus rate, how many carbs you have eaten everything you need with the added bonus of how you feel. So give it a go. I personally love it. 

So really that has been my diabetic week, looking into the history and volunteering for Diabetes UK. Although I have also been revising for exams tomorrow and Tuesday which also includes preparing myself diabetic wise for what the stress can do to my diabetes. So I have my sweets at the ready in case of a hypo and have practised my deep breathing to release myself of stress before the exam. However I also find stress leads to my sugar level rising rather than causing hypos but we shall have to wait and see tomorrow and maybe I’ll talk about that more in my next blog.

Anyway I better get back to the revision and get an early night. I hope everyone has had a nice weekend and enjoy the ramblings of myself in this blog. 

Thanks for reading 🙂 

4 comments
  1. Tracy Brook said:

    Rally interesting Meg, wishing you lots of luck with your two exams this wk, not that you need it, trip to Canada sounds amazing. I loved Canada, love mum x

  2. Grant Maltman said:

    Best of luck with exams and your volunteer efforts with Diabetes UK. Like your mum, we’re sure you will love Canada, in particular your visit to Banting House National Historic Site of Canada – the birthplace of insulin! 🙂

    • Thank you first for reading my blog and your lovely comment. I am sure I will, now to start saving up the pennies haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

