It’s a beautiful day…night

Hey all πŸ™‚

So I’m feeling quite positive about all this diabetes mlarky today these past few days. Which is an amazing feeling after feeling so down about it. It is hard to describe how nice it is to finally feel positive about it and the fact that I’m not going to let it beat me. It is horrible to be stuck in a rut of helplessness when it comes to living with type one diabetes, I’m sure it happens to all of us once in a while but I think the loneliness is the worse thing about it, yes other people have type one…but at that moment you feel like your the only one with it feeling the way you do, obviously I wasn’t and there is such a lovely online diabetes community (gbdoc and yourd to name two). But I finally feel like I’ve broken through that wall that I was struggling to get it over.

IT’S A BEAUTIFUL DAY

(I was going to take a picture of me happy and smiling now, but I’m in my pjs and look rough (although happily rough hahahaha) and I didn’t want to scare you all away…so this is a nicer photo of me being happy).

I suppose a few things have helped me to get myself out of the rut I was in and I feel like I should list them of so here goes (in no particular order πŸ˜‰ )

  • My boyfriend, family and friends – Who over the few weeks have taken the time to listen to me whine, gave me their own opinions, sat with me when I’ve cried, asked me how I’m doing…the list of stuff they have done for me could go on and on and on. I will forever be grateful to them and I’m sure they know who they are hence why I’m not mentioning names.
  • Sorting my sugar levels out – So it hasn’t been easy, basal testing isn’t how I want to spend my time but it has been worth every second invested in doing it. I’m not saying my sugars are constantly perfect at the moment, they aren’t I’ve had my ups and downs here and there and am still playing around but I’ll get there in the end.
  • Support and lovely comments from people reading my blogs or seeing my #100diabetesdays
  • Believing in myself – Letting myself get upset but then wiping away the tears and telling myself I can do it, that it is going to be hard but it’s worth it in the end.
  • Myfitnesspal app (I’m not saying download this app, just giving my views on it haven’t been endorsed or whatever its called) – I have found this app to be useful when carb counting which has helped with my sugar levels.
  • #100diabetesdays – It has made me think of positive things about my diabetes which in turn has made me feel happier about it for at least half an hour each day.

So that’s a brief summary of what I feel has helped with getting me out of my diabetes burnout, there is plenty more I need to do like; book a diabetes consultation because I have been avoiding. But these are new goals for me to achieve this week alongside doing my dissertation. It surprised me how easy it was to fall into burnout but it has surprised me even more how I’ve managed to deal with it.

Living with any condition whether it is asthma, any form of diabetes, epilepsy etc is not easy. They are all difficult in their own right, neither is worse than the other because they are individual to the person. But you have to keep your chin up and not let it get you down because otherwise is life really worth living? There is going to be grey and miserable times but the happier days make it all worth it. Waking up with a bm of 6 is worth the angst and stress of basal testing and carb counting.

So basically this is my way of saying that I will NOT let my diabetes get the better of me because life is worth living to the fullest and that’s not possible when your feeling down about having type one diabetes (and yes I could probably been in a worse position). After all I’m lucky to have all the people around me that care and support and information at my fingers and a life that I can be happy and positive about. Diabetes schmities, my condition doesn’t define me, I’m just me with the added bonus of an insulin pump and a bag full of wonderful medical kits πŸ˜‰

p.s How lovely is my chocolate otter (if anyone wants to buy me an otter for my birthday it will be totally acceptable)

 

Leave a Reply

