Positivity Take One

The last few days I’ve been trying so hard to be positive about everything! Believe me it’s not easy when my BMS are bouncing between 9 – 21 and I’ve had a sickness bug and now am on antibiotics for teeth problems. I’m exhausted and struggling to find something positive in that. 

Yet I’m still trying and I’m hoping that if I get rid of the negativity I will have more room for positivity and then be more happier. All of which is a mindset and sometimes I think I let the negativity consume me which in turns makes it harder to live with something like Type One Diabetes. 

 

So how can I turn my diabetes into positive. Well this last few weeks me and my toilet have become really good friends because of the bug and the high bms. Gaining friends is always a plus 😉 It isn’t only the toilet that I have become friends with there is such a wonderful diabetes online community which I’ve mentioned before. I’ve met and become friends with some wonderful people from it and there is endless support from people who possibly equally know how close you become to a toilet when your sugar levels are high! I promise one day I will win an award for how much I can urinate hahaha.

  

Also when the time comes for me to have children at least I can survive on little sleep. My diabetes is like a child sometimes it’s doesn’t like me to sleep. It keeps me up, makes me check on it, makes sure I feed it and keep it hydrate otherwise it does not play ball with my sugar levels. 

  
Now then there is the big bags. I’m your girl if you ever cannot be bother to take your bag out when I’m go out with you because I carry a big enough bag for three people at least…oh wait actually no you won’t be able to fit your purse in my bag when we go out…I don’t have room after I’ve put in all my spare equipment. 

  
My all time favourite thing though has to be I now think I could class as a bionic woman. According to thefreedictionary; 

bi·on·ic (bī-ŏn′ĭk)

adj.

1. Of or relating to bionics.

2. Having anatomical structures or physiological processes that are replaced or enhanced by electronic or mechanical components

3. Having extraordinary strength, powers, or capabilities; superhuman.

So technically my pancreas is a machine. Therefore surely I am bionic! Hahaha! Obviously number 3 applies as well, in what way I cannot reveal or my secret will be out 😉 

But all joking aside, as well as deciding to be positive about my diabetes I have decided I need to also be more proactive in looking after myself. So I actually went to the gym the yesterday. I am now suffering but I really enjoyed it! I didn’t change my basal rate and my sugar levels weren’t to bad. I spiked afterwards but I have been everyday at that time of the day for last couple of days so I’m not sure if that was due to the gym or not! Either way I am going to go back which says something! 

  
I found the above quote on google images earlier and it is so true. My sugar levels may have been playing up today however I do not have ketones, I’m still alive and I’m also lucky to have the equipment I have to help control my diabetes; insulin, strips and my devices; pump, contour link 2.4 and a couple of CGM. Equipment and medication I am also fortunate not to have to pay for. I also have a team that I know when they get the email I sent them tonight will reply back and help me and much as they can with my sugar levels. So I am lucky and although I have my struggles I will never let my diabetes beat me or prevent me from living a normal life. 

I’m not really normal anyway, I’m sure if you took a step into my world it would be full of bubbles, otters, craziness and other weird and wonderful things. 

I think I’ve got to the point where I’ve started to ramble, I’m too tired to read over for typos but I still hope you enjoy reading my rambles! 

Much Love

Megs 🙂 

Leave a Reply

